Maher on fire as Kilcavan get the better of The Heath in junior opener

first_img WhatsApp Pinterest By Steven Miller – 29th July 2018 Previous articleLast minute O’Connor point leads Timahoe to round one victoryNext articleStrong’s last gasp free seals draw for Emo against 14-man Arles-Killeen Steven Millerhttp://www.laoistoday.ieSteven Miller is owner and managing editor of From Laois, Steven studied Journalism in DCU and has 14 years experience in the media, almost 10 of those in an editorial role. Husband of Emily, father of William and Lillian, he’s happiest when he’s telling stories or kicking a point. Community Twitter Maher on fire as Kilcavan get the better of The Heath in junior opener Community Twitter Ten Laois based players named on Leinster rugby U-18 girls squad Home Sport GAA Maher on fire as Kilcavan get the better of The Heath in… SportGAAGaelic Football Brought to you in association with JK AutosKilcavan 4-10 The Heath 1-10Laois Shopping Centre JFC Round 1Last year’s beaten junior finalists Kilcavan got their campaign off to an impressive performance today thanks to a good win away to The Heath.It was a good team performance from Kilcavan with a number of fine performances around the field. But full-forward Jason Maher was the star of the showing, finishing with 4-1.He got his first goal after three minutes when he was set up by Ollie Dixon and he got two more in the opening six minutes of the second half, one from the penalty spot after Ronan Gorry was fouled.And Maher got a fourth goal with time almost up to help seal a nine-point win.Sean Mangan, Dixon, Evan Hunt, Gorry and Derek O’Connell – back in an outfield role after a couple of years in goals – were also to the fore for the winners.The Heath were crowned Division 3 league champions earlier this month but seven of that team featured for the seniors in their championship game against St Joseph’s last night, thus making them ineligible. Another three at least were unavailable for one reason or the other.Kilcavan, too, have lost a handful of players from the side that were beaten in last year’s junior final by St Joseph’s. But they are moving well enough and will surely be still in the reckoning to win this title outright.They got off to a dream start when playmaker Ollie Dixon set Maher up for the game’s first goal.Dixon added a point moments later but The Heath responded well by scoring three of the next four points, two from Robbie Ging and one from midfielder Donal Rigney. At the midway stage of the opening half, Kilcavan led 1-2 to 0-3.Derek O’Connell – who has won junior titles with Kilcavan in 1993, 2004 and 2013 – put three between the sides again and although Dan Hennessy pulled one back for The Heath, Dixon and Hunt repsonded for Kilcavan. Luke Hyland got the last point of the half for The Heath but at the break Kilcavan led 1-5 to 0-5.The visitors got the second half off to a great start too with Maher getting two goals and Hunt and Gorry adding a point each. With 20 minutes still to play Kilcavan led by 11 points.But to The Heath’s credit, they kept battling on. David Phelan and Robbie Ging pulled points back and then Ging got in for a cracking goal.Another Ging free and a second point of the day for Dan Hennessy left just four in it with nine minutes remaining.But Kilcavan weathered the storm and a free from Maher and two points from Dixon settled them before Maher pounced for his fourth goal late on.Kilcavan now join Annanough, Park-Ratheniska, Portlaoise and Ballylinan in the winners section with the games between Camross-Errill, Graiguecullen-Spink and Stradbally-Ballyroan-Abbey still to be played.The Heath go into the qualifiers section where they will play one of the other Round 1 losers.SCORERS – Kilcavan: Jason Maher 4-1 (1-0 penalty, 0-1 free), Ollie Dixon 0-4 (one free), Evan Hunt 0-2, Ronan Gorry 0-2, Derek O’Connell 0-1. The Heath: Robbie Ging 1-5 (0-3 frees), Dan Hennessy 0-2, David Phelan 0-1, Luke Hyland 0-1, Donal Bigley 0-1THE HEATH: Billy Hennessy; Joe McEvoy, Gary Hogan, James Conroy; Gareth O’Brien, Conor Bergin, David Conroy; Dan Hennessy, Donal Bigley; Benny Conroy, Shane Keane, Robbie Ging; David Phelan, Shane Hennessy, Luke Hyland. Sub: Denis Lalor for S HennessyKILCAVAN: Eamon O’Brien; David Ryan, Sean Mangan, Cathal Brennan; Eddie Conroy, Michael Bermingham, Declan Conroy; Barry Mangan, Gearoid Treacy; Evan Hunt, Ollie Dixon, Paul Bolton; Derek O’Connell, Jason Maher, Ronan Gorry. Subs: Rory O’Connell for BoltonREFEREE: Eric Ward (Portarlington)SEE ALSO – Looking ahead to this year’s Laois intermediate football championship Facebook TAGSKilcavanKilcavan v The HeathLaois JFC 2018The Heath Five Laois monuments to receive almost €200,000 in government funding Rugby WhatsApp Facebook RELATED ARTICLESMORE FROM AUTHOR Pinterest Charlie Flanagan on Electric Picnic: ‘I’d ask organisers to consult with community leaders’last_img read more